design · wedding

All About Save the Dates

Up until friends of mine started getting married, I had no clue about Save the Dates – what their purpose was, whether or not they were necessary, and if I would ever need one?

But now it has become completely clear to me. Life is busy and beyond milestone events like weddings and showers and babies… people are just trying to keep up with the day-to-day. You need to lock down your wedding day in guests’ calendars!

Read on even more to see if Save the Dates are a necessity for you or more of a nice to have for your Big Day!

IMG_0387

Why send a Save the Date?

Like I said, people are busy! You want to get your date into their calendar. This is especially true if your wedding falls on or around a major holiday such as Easter, Thanksgiving, New Years, or even a long weekend in the summer.

Also, If you have many out-of-town guests (which we do), a save the date gives them time to think about their travel plans and accommodations.

What information should I include on my Save the Date?

I think this depends on how far in advance your wedding is and how much information you actually have to share. For us, we sent out save the dates about 8 months out from our wedding so had plenty of details confirmed and shared the following:

  • Our Names
  • Date
  • Venue
  • Location (Town or City of Venue)
  • Website (where accommodation info could be found)
  • A line indicating the invitation would come at a later date

I think this covered our bases and gave guests all the information they needed this far in advance to start their planning.

Do I have to use even more paper and mail my Save the Date?

No – of course not! We chose to print and mail our Save the Dates but I have had friends email PDF versions of theirs or use online services such as Paperless Post.

I can’t say enough good things about Paperless Post and I have used this virtual invitation provider for a number of events. I highly encourage you to check it out if you are considering sending your Save the Dates online. There is even the option to collect addresses or pre-RSVPs using the program! And you get to see if your Save the Dates were delivered and opened.


On a more personal note, our Save the DatesΒ gave us the opportunity to showcase our fabulous engagement pictures and gave me the opportunity to design my first piece of wedding stationery for my own wedding. So all practicality aside, these were benefits as well πŸ™‚

What do you think about Save the Dates? Have you ever used Paperless Post?

2 thoughts on “All About Save the Dates

  1. I throw 2-3 parties/ cookouts per year and even though my family and friends look out for and anticipate them, my first “invite” is a save the date.

    Like

Leave a Reply

